SPC’s Kappa Mu Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa sets induction ceremony on Nov. 10

LEVELLAND – South Plains College’s Kappa Mu Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society will induct 55 new members during a ceremony at 6 p.m. in the Sundown Room. The ceremony marks the first induction since 2019.

Jay Warnick, director of Continuing Education and Workforce Development at SPC, will deliver the keynote address.

Hale County inductees are Lainie Nelson of Plainview and Briseida Contreras of Hale Center.

Hockley County inductees are Grayson Darr Edens, Emma Martinez, Lexie Lee, Christian Cross Lopez, Emily Rodriguez and Amber Valderas, all of Levelland; and Mckenzie Lee and Karolynn Torrez, both of Sundown.

Lamb County inductees are Micaela Fuentes of Earth; Arturo Alejandro Carrillo, Diego Caudillo and Marcus Garcia, all of Littlefield; and Dakota Reyher of Sudan.

Lubbock County inductees are Lisandro Monreal Arrendondo, Antonio Geronimo Gonzales, Amber Guerrero, Isabel Salas and Kaylee Silva, all of Lubbock.

Terry County inductees are Cindy Fernanda Bustillos of Wellman and Noah Salas of Brownfield.

Yoakum County inductees are Enrique Tarango of Plains and Nahomi Villa of Denver City.

Area inductees are Jazlyn Aguirre of Muleshoe, Melody Joy Cruz of Morton, Joy Conley of Seminole

Other inductees include Ray Sanchez of Odem, Synthia Alicia Gomez of Lovington, N.M. and international student Alyna Lopez of Mexico.

To be eligible for induction, students must attend an institution offering an associate degree program, complete at least 15 hours of coursework, have full citizenship in their country and maintain a grade point average of 3.25 or above. The benefits of membership include access to letters of recommendation, enrollment in a senior college database and a membership pin.

Advisors of Phi Theta Kappa are Dr. Kristina Garrett, professor of psychology; Dr. Erica Warnick, professor of education; and Enrique Escamilla, advisor.